Manx Voice | The search for a Manx cultural champion is on!
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-1197,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-9.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-,vc_responsive

The search for a Manx cultural champion is on!

‘Who will be Manannan’s Choice of the Year?’ is the question that you have the chance to answer throughout November. An annual cultural award named after our very own Celtic sea god, the ‘Reih Bleeaney Vanannan’ is awarded to an individual or group who has made the greatest contribution to the Island’s cultural heritage. You may want to nominate someone who works to promote and support language, literature, art, music, dance, history, education or the environment, or some other aspect of Manx culture. The winner of the award receives a personal donation of £500 and is invited to name a Manx cultural cause which will receive an additional donation of £500 from Culture Vannin.

Last year, two cultural giants, John Kennaugh and Bernard Caine, were given the award posthumously, having made extraordinary contributions to an appreciation of our rbv-medalcultural heritage that spanned decades. Previous winners include William Cain (wildlife and environment), Clare Kilgallon (music, song and dance), the Bunscoill Ghaelgagh (language and culture), Allan Skillan (fieldwalking and prehistory), and Maureen Costain Richards (Manx artistic heritage particularly the Manx crosses), which shows that the aspects of Manx culture covered by the award really are diverse.

It was Mona Douglas who identified Manannan as the patron of Manx culture, developing the original ‘Mananan Trophy’ rbv-trophy-close-up-of-figure2together with Stephen Quayle. Later reincarnated as the RBV, the trophy was designed by the late Eric Austwick, and consists of the figure of Manannan standing on a piece of Pooilvaaish marble. Although the trophy is only held for a year, each recipient of the RBV is awarded a medal designed by Jenny Kissack and reproduced in silver and enamel by Celtic Gold.

So who should be Manannan’s Choice of the Year? Only you can decide! The closing date for nominations is Monday 28 November 2016.

Full details of the award, downloadable nomination forms and rules are available on Culture Vannin’s website – just follow links for RBV Cultural Award on the homepage: or email or phone 676169.


Related posts:

No Comments

Post A Comment